Pollo Guisado (Chicken Stew)   2 comments

This is my favorite Puerto Rican dish! My Mother-In-Law – makes it for me all the time because it’s my favorite.  My husband has started making it for me as well. It’s soo good. Usually we make it on the stove top but I wanted to try it in the crock pot and see how it comes out. I didn’t take any prep pictures. I did take pics of it cooking in the crock pot.

Ingredients:

4 portions of boneless, skinless chicken breast

2 medium potatoes

2 teaspoons of salt( We use Goya Adobo)

3 tablespoons of sofrito(Goya Sofrito)

1 8 ounce can of tomato sauce (Goya tomato sauce)

5 Olives

2 Bay leaves

1 ounce green pepper

1 ounce red pepper

1 packet of sazon (Goya)

2 cups of water

Prep: Cut the chicken into 1/2 inch pieces. Peel and dice potatoes into quarter inch pieces. Dice peppers into 1/8 inch pieces. In the crock pot mix all the ingredients except the potatoes and chicken.  After everything is well mixed add the chicken and potatoes. Stir to coat the chicken.  Cook for 6 hrs on high or 8 hrs on low. Depending on how much meat or potatoes you like add accordingly.  This recipe can also be used with turkey instead of chicken we have used both. Serve with white rice.

Update: This came out better in the crock pot then how we usually make it on the stove top. The meat came out very tender and juicy! We loved it!

Posted July 4, 2011 by jillmrodriguez in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pollo Guisado (Chicken Stew)

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very easy to put together and when my wife gets home she will be happy she does not have to cook. I cant wait to taste it in 4 hours.

  2. How did it turn out Steven?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

